A Royall Juggle

Response #1: Arlington residents can “Eat More Chicken” November 18!

Posted on: November 3, 2010

After reading one of Ashley’s fun posts about Trader Joe’s coming to Clarendon, I began to notice a trend in Arlington – lots of new restaurants have been posting “opening soon” signs in windows. I’ve lived and worked in Arlington, VA for about four years now and I’ve never seen so many new businesses opening in such a short time frame. I guess it’s a positive sign for our local economy. Within a few blocks of where I live in Ballston, Rustico  and Pizza Autentica just opened, and Buzz Bakery and Sweet Green are coming very soon (I’ve been on the lookout for a while as I could use a change of scenery for my weekend homework outings – I think Panera is tired of me setting up shop there J). And within blocks of where I work in Crystal City, there is a Jimmy John’s and Buffalo Wild Wings aka BDubs opening soon (a great excuse for me to plan another work happy hour!).

Despite all of these exciting new business openings, the one that beats them all… Chick-fil-A coming to Crystal City – now my favorite fried chicken and sweet tea combo (it’s a tight race with Bojangles’ but that’s for another blog post) will now be within a few blocks of where I live AND work! My co-workers are probably tired of hearing me talk about it because the sign first appeared in July, but the wait is almost over – it opens November 18th (picture taken this Monday during my stroll at lunch).

Ashley is great example of a brand advocate for Trader Joe’s – she’s even willing to sacrifice her time circling around for a parking spot in Clarendon to get two buck chuck (although her post says three buck chuck – I guess a price increase was inevitable). And I am without a doubt a brand advocate for Chick-fil-A. I recently became a “Chick-fil-A Insider” and discovered their “First 100” Event – the first 100 people through the door of their grand opening have a chance to win a free Chick-fil-A combo every week for a year (52 free meals!). Given that I reward myself for getting through each work week with Chick-fil-A on Friday or Saturday, winning this event could put lots of money back in my pocket. Unfortunately, you have to spend 24 hours in line at the store to qualify (only bathroom breaks allowed!) and I don’t think my boss will go for “I’m just going to work OUTSIDE the office today so I don’t lose my place in line at Chick-fil-A.” I already tried to save a little on weekly cravings – I buy a Chick-fil-A calendar as a gift for myself at Christmas time and use the coupons throughout the year.

It may seem a little obsessive how much I love good chicken biscuits and sweet tea, but who doesn’t like a little “Chicken Fried?”

My love is not just for the food, it’s also a little piece of home – comfort food if you will. I grew up in Danville, VA, a small southern “city” right on the border of North Carolina and although it may not seem too far from here, it’s a completely different world. I always thought I’d end up further south after graduation – my dream was to live in a house on Lake Norman right outside Charlotte, NC. But I moved to Arlington for a job, met a great guy, and now I’m not sure when or if I’ll leave. It’s taken me quite a while to adjust to city life although I don’t think I’ll ever consider myself a “city girl.” I miss a lot about living in the country and I get home sick every now and then, similar to what Kate talks about in her post about New York.  I may not be able to see the stars every night before I go to sleep, play with my favorite pug and eat momma’s casseroles when I wake up in the morning, or even watch the Cowboys play (the better word is “lose” if we’re talking about this season) every Sunday with my dad and sister, but Chick-fil-A is a little piece of home that I can get every day of the week in Arlington (except for Sunday of course). This guy does an excellent job expressing my love for the place in song…

Once I’m out of the DC traffic, I really enjoy driving home, it’s my time to reflect and catch up with old friends on the phone. The Chick-fil-A in Charlottesville, VA is the midway point on my road trips back to Danville. I stop there every time I pass and as soon as I arrive, I magically revert back to a southern state of mind. I leave all the stress from my city life behind and I feel free again.

I’m looking forward to heading to North Carolina for Thanksgiving soon to spend time with family and see my sister in her final weeks of her first pregnancy, but until then I’ll plan to do my grocery shopping on Sundays at Trader Joe’s along with Ashley and will do my best not to eat at Chick-fil-A every other day of the week.

4 Responses to "Response #1: Arlington residents can “Eat More Chicken” November 18!"

Amanda,

I’m a huge Chick-fil-a fan, mostly for the milkshakes. I’m something of a milkshake superfan and did a piece for Washingtonian on them this summer:

http://www.washingtonian.com/blogarticles/16277.html

GMG

That’s awesome… my favorite is when they bring back the peach shakes for summertime! I’ll have to check out Good Stuff Eatery sometime soon — I’ve heard great things and your toasted marshmallow shake picture is making my mouth water.

I think I just might have to stop by Chick-fil-A on my way home after reading this post! 🙂

Amanda- As a UVA grad, the Charlottesville Chick-fil-A is one of my fave places! Nothing beats their sweet tea, chicken biscuits or honey bbq sauce :-)!

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

